by Ironwood

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $7 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Stunning artwork, beautiful digipak presentation of Ironwood's debut full length album.

    Includes unlimited streaming of :Fire:Water:Ash: via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $10 USD or more 




Ironwood's debut album, released in 2009.


“The triple vocal interplay gives the whole a much more atmospheric presence … This are the true saviors of pagan – and folk metal. This is the kind of band Profound Lore, Napalm Records or The End Records should strive to launch into the international metal scene.”
- Wouter Roemers, Masterful Magazine

“:Fire:Water:Ash: … combines gentle dirges … with bombastic epics … Ironwood have created a classy album that reveals itself slowly as a rich, inventive and above all unique work.”
- Adam Mills, Blunt Magazine

“These Australians already have a large following and its easy to see why: their brand of progressive folk metal is extremely polished, catchy and superbly written and performed … highly recommended.”
- Will Pinfold, Zero Tolerance

“[T]ruly extraordinary … this is a must have album… jump straight into the deep end and get your hands on this. 9.5/10.”
- Mitch Booth, Metal Obsession

“IRONWOOD sind einzigartig magisch … Zu schön für diese Welt … 9.5/10 [Ironwood is uniquely magical ... too beautiful for this world ... 9.5/10)."
- SirLordDoom, Metal District

"Ein Meisterwerk ist „:Fire:Water:Ash:" ... 9/10."
- Chrischi, Burn Your Ears

"I hear a lot of music at HH HQ and Ironwood really stands out as authentic and a project starting with integrity and individual vision rather than adhesion to a musical style. [Ironwood] are certainly pushing “pagan metal” ahead leaps and bounds.”
- Malakhi Thorn, Heathen Harvest

“Ironwood’s self-released debut LP is an outstanding piece of mythological storytelling that defies heavy metal convention.”
- John Ray, Metalreview.com

“:Fire:Water:Ash: is definitely something great in Australia’s metal history … 8.5/10.”
- Steven Inglis, The Metal Forge

“There is simply nobody out there doing what Ironwood is doing – certainly not with anywhere near this level of refinement and I urge you to support these warrior Antipodeans by purchasing this work of art.”
- Geoff Birchenall, Asgard Root

“[A] mesmerising journey … no review can really do justice to this album. Just try it and experience the wild Heathen elemental and spiritual shades of Ironwood.”
- Sweyn Plowright (Organiser, Rune-Net)

“[T]he band has managed to capture a mysterious, dark, epic, heathen and magical atmosphere, which I honestly haven’t heard before … :Fire:Water:Ash:’ is definitely a stunning and unique album that has the ability to apply a broad audience … 85/100.”
- Nima, Lords of Metal

“Ironwood masterfully craft a menacingly epic atmosphere that spans :Fire:Water:Ash:.”
- Tom Hersey, Rave Magazine

“[I]t can’t get much better than this! Ironwood is definitely worth checking out!”
- Greg Siefert, Archaic Magazine

“[E]pic, progressive, yet heavy, with plenty of guitar and bass solos to round things out. Each song has a noticeable theme, which is thoroughly explored through variation and repetition … a convincing atmosphere; this feels quite “Viking” without being stereotypical or done-before … Recommended.”
- Vorfeed, Vorfeed

“they know how to use their instruments perfectly … the compositions have a very nice progressive touch and above all, the bass guitar is impressive from the beginning to the end.”
- Séb, Heavy Metal Universe

“Ironwood’s debut album, :Fire:Water:Ash:, is most likely one of 2009s best unsigned releases by far. These four awesome musicians from Sydney have yet again outdone themselves with this release.”
- Mat @ Metaholic Music, Metaholic Music

“Eine tiefgründige Collage aus Elementen der verträumten Naturmystik, der fordernden Progressivität und der metallischen Epik, die intensiv gehört werden will. [for English readers - he really liked the album!].”
- Rüdiger Stehle, powermetal.de

“[Ironwoood] are accomplished musicians and they spin this tale in such a way that you can marvel at its telling again and again.”
- Kevin Wierzbicki, antimusic.com

“All throughout the dark atmospheres add that extra layer contributing to the heathenistic aura which can be easily immersed in… 8/10.”
- Raiden, Metal Storm

“An extraordinary epic journey. Sweet melodies flawlessly segue into fiery invocations. Just brilliant and mind blowing… [a] stunning feat!”
- Arrowyn Craban, Hex Magazine

“Was den Gesamteindruck allerdings nicht schmälert, denn für eine Eigenproduktion hat dieses Werk reichlich Potenzial und weiß sowohl musikalisch, wie gesanglich zu überzeugen.”
- Andreas, Amboss Magazine

“it’s a kind of mixture between peaceful and aggressive kind of nature but both with sense for the emotions … I would compare Ironwood with Tenhi … or Agalloch … 8/10.”
- Milan Alimpi? , Metal Sound

“[V]ery technical & Progressive sound … definately an original take on … Folk Metal music.”
- Burt Wolf, Beowulf Productions

“This is one helluva dark and slightly twisted CD. The sole purpose and meaning of, “Fire Water Ash”, surely must be to mess around with the listeners comprehensibility as much as possible (and I like it!!!).”
- Urban “Wally” Wallstrom, Rock United


released December 15, 2009



all rights reserved


Ironwood Sydney, Australia

A channel for forces elemental and spiritual, Ironwood’s unique fusion of progressive, folk, and metal influences invokes spiraling atmospheres and dark vistas. Ironwood is simultaneously based in Sydney, Australia and Portland, Oregon, United States.

contact / help

Contact Ironwood

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code